Inkantic

Tattoo aftercare: eight official sheets, side by side

By Inkantic editorial, Lettering and tools desk · updated

Tattoo aftercare, as eight official US documents describe it: wash gently, apply a thin layer of ointment or lotion, stay out of water and sun, and call a doctor at the first sign of infection. They disagree on the numbers. The bandage comes off after two hours, five hours, or the next morning.

This page publishes no aftercare routine of its own. It sets eight official documents against each other, cell by cell, and names the places where they do not match. Every one was opened and read on September 21, 2026, and every number below is quoted from the document beside it rather than averaged into a consensus that none of the sources actually states.

Why no single official tattoo aftercare sheet exists

There is no federal tattoo aftercare instruction in the United States, and the agency most people would expect to publish one explains why. The FDA fact sheet on tattoos and permanent makeup, current as of October 15, 2024, treats tattoo ink as a cosmetic and states plainly that the actual practice of tattooing is regulated by local jurisdictions.

That single sentence is the reason this page exists. Aftercare rules are written by whichever state, county or city licenses the shop, by two medical organizations with national reach, and by the artist. Nobody reconciles them, and nothing requires them to agree.

0Aftercare instructions published by the U.S. agency that regulates tattoo ink. The FDA fact sheet covers infection risk, removal, allergic reactions, granulomas and MRI complications, and leaves the practice of tattooing to local jurisdictions (FDA, content current as of October 15, 2024)

What follows is the same exercise we ran on the published tattoo pain charts: take the sources people actually land on, put their claims in one table, and let the disagreement be the finding. The difference is that pain charts cite nothing, while these documents are regulation, guidance or both.

Eight official documents, side by side

The set is two medical organizations, one federal agency and five state, city and county regulators: the American Academy of Dermatology, Mayo Clinic, the FDA, the New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, the Texas Department of State Health Services, the Alaska Board of Barbers and Hairdressers, the Oklahoma State Department of Health, and the Grand Traverse County Health Department in Michigan. Three of those documents are not advice at all: New York City, Texas and Alaska each state that the shop is required to hand the client written instructions, and the text below is the minimum those instructions must contain.

How the set was chosen matters as much as what is in it, so here it is: the two medical organizations with national reach, the federal agency, and every state, city or county aftercare document we could open and read in full on September 21, 2026. Three more were behind blocks that returned no text, the Michigan state sheet, the Minnesota brochure and the Milwaukee handout, so this is what opened rather than a survey of all fifty states.

The first table covers the first day: the covering, the wash, and what goes on the skin afterward. “Not stated” means the document says nothing on the subject, which on this topic is itself an answer.

SourceCovering comes offWash withThen apply
American Academy of DermatologyNot statedNot statedWater-based lotion or cream if the skin feels dry; not petroleum-based
Mayo ClinicNot statedSoap and water, twice a day, no direct streamMild moisturizer, several times a day
FDANot statedNot statedNot stated
New York City DOHMH3 to 5 hoursCool, soapy water; pat dry, do not rubVery thin layer of bacitracin for four days, then unscented lotion; never petroleum jelly
Texas DSHSSterile dressing “when necessary""Properly cleanse the tattooed area”Antibiotic ointment or cream
Alaska Board of Barbers and HairdressersOvernight; off in the morningMild soap and warm waterLotion or ointment, 6 times a day for at least 10 days
Oklahoma State Department of HealthAs the artist instructs; do not re-bandageBare hands, gently; pat dryArtist’s ointment or lotion 3 times a day for one to two weeks; nothing with oils or fragrances
Grand Traverse County, MichiganApproximately 2 hoursMild soap and cool waterThin coat of antibiotic ointment, 2 to 4 times daily for at least 3 days

The second table covers the restrictions that shape the next month, and it is where the sources stop using numbers at all.

SourceWaterSunHealing time
American Academy of DermatologyNot statedBroad-spectrum SPF 30 or higher, 15 minutes before going out, reapply every 2 hoursNot stated
Mayo ClinicNo pools, hot tubs, rivers or lakes while healingOut of the sun until it healsAbout two weeks
FDANot statedNot statedNot stated
New York City DOHMHShowers yes, baths no; no pools, jacuzzis or ocean for two weeksSun block rated 40 or strongerNot stated
Texas DSHSSwimming discouraged in fresh, salt or chlorinated water for at least two weeksMinimize exposure for at least two weeksNot stated
Alaska Board of Barbers and HairdressersNot wet for one week except a daily gentle wash; no bathing, hot tubs or swimmingOut of the sun for 3 weeksPeeling in 2 to 5 days; healing not stated
Oklahoma State Department of HealthDo not submerge in hot tubs, lakes, bathtubs or pools until healedAvoid excessive sun or tanning beds until completely healedNot stated
Grand Traverse County, MichiganAvoid salt or chlorine water and hot tubs until completely healedAvoid sunburn until completely healedNot stated

When the bandage comes off: two hours, five hours, or the next morning

Three of the eight documents put a time on the first covering, and the three times do not overlap. Grand Traverse County says approximately two hours. New York City says three to five hours. Alaska says leave the moisture barrier covering on overnight and remove it in the morning. Between the county floor and the state ceiling sits most of a day.

2 hours to overnightThe full range of first-covering times across the eight documents: approximately 2 hours in Grand Traverse County, Michigan; 3 to 5 hours in New York City; overnight in Alaska. The other five documents give no time at all (Inkantic, comparing the sheets cited on this page, read September 21, 2026)

The remaining five are not quietly agreeing with one of the three. Texas says only to use sterile dressings “when necessary”, which is an instruction to the artist rather than a clock for the client. Oklahoma defers explicitly, telling you not to re-bandage after removing the bandage according to your tattoo artist’s instructions. The AAD, Mayo Clinic and the FDA do not mention a bandage anywhere on the pages read here.

Three documents agree on something the rest skip: do not put the covering back on. Oklahoma says to keep the tattoo open to the air after the bandage comes off, Grand Traverse County warns that a re-applied bandage could stick to the tattoo and cause damage, and New York City is blunter, telling you the tattoo needs to breathe.

What to put on a new tattoo, and how often

This is the sharpest split in the set, and it runs along an institutional line rather than a medical one. The three health departments that name a product name an antibiotic: Texas says antibiotic ointment or cream, New York City says a very thin layer of bacitracin or another antibacterial cream, and Grand Traverse County says an antibiotic ointment such as Neosporin or Polysporin. Neither medical organization in the set mentions antibiotics anywhere on the pages read here.

Mayo Clinic asks for a mild moisturizer several times a day and nothing more specific. The American Academy of Dermatology asks for a water-based lotion or cream, and only if the tattooed skin feels dry. The two organizations most people would treat as the medical authority on skin are the two that do not reach for a drug.

Frequency splits wider still. Grand Traverse County asks for two to four applications a day for at least three days. Alaska asks for six a day for at least ten days. Multiply each sheet by its own stated floor and the same wound gets six applications in Michigan and sixty in Alaska.

6 vs 60Minimum ointment applications implied by two regulator sheets: 2 per day for 3 days in Grand Traverse County, Michigan, against 6 per day for 10 days in Alaska. Multiplication of each document's own stated floor, not a recommendation (Inkantic, read September 21, 2026)

Only two documents rule anything out by name. The AAD gives a reason to avoid petroleum-based products, which is that they can cause the ink to fade, and New York City sets the same rule in capitals without a reason. Oklahoma bans a category instead, telling you not to use lotions or moisturizers with oils or fragrances. The other five say nothing about what not to use, which is silence rather than approval.

How long to stay out of the water

Six of the eight restrict water, and they divide into two kinds of answer. New York City and Texas give a calendar: two weeks, counted from the day of the tattoo. Alaska gives a shorter one, one week, and makes it stricter, asking that the tattoo not get wet at all except for a daily gentle wash with short showers.

Mayo Clinic, Oklahoma and Grand Traverse County give a condition instead of a date. Stay out of pools, hot tubs, rivers and lakes while the tattoo is healing, says Mayo; do not submerge until it is healed, says Oklahoma; avoid salt or chlorine water and hot tubs until completely healed, says Grand Traverse. Two of those three never say when healed arrives.

Showering survives in every document that mentions it. New York City allows showers and forbids baths in the same line. Alaska allows short showers inside a week of otherwise keeping the tattoo dry. Mayo asks only that the water not hit the tattoo directly. Nobody in the set asks you to skip washing, and the split between a shower and a soak is the one water rule that holds across sources. Which water carries which risk, and the single published case of an infection after swimming with a fresh tattoo, is in how long after a tattoo you can swim.

Sun: two weeks, three weeks, or until it is healed

The sun rules break the same way, with one extra wrinkle. Texas sets two weeks of minimized exposure. The Alaska aftercare form, revised in June 2024, sets three. Mayo, Oklahoma and Grand Traverse County set no date at all and gate it on healing, with Oklahoma adding tanning beds by name.

The wrinkle is the number on the bottle. The AAD asks for broad-spectrum, water-resistant SPF 30 or more, applied fifteen minutes before going outside and reapplied at least every two hours. New York City asks for a sun block rated 40 or stronger. One of those is current dermatology guidance for all skin and the other is a 2016 city handout, and a reader who follows both ends up following the stricter one by accident.

Worth separating: the AAD page is about tattooed skin for life, not about the first two weeks. Its advice to stay out of tanning beds and away from sunlamps, and its warning that UV light fades some inks, apply as long as you have the tattoo. That is a different question from when a new tattoo can see daylight, and the AAD does not answer the second one.

How long healing takes, and why only one document says

One of the eight puts a number on it. Mayo Clinic writes that most tattoos take about two weeks to heal, and hangs its water and sun rules on that word. Alaska comes closest to a second figure with peeling, which it says happens like a sunburn in two to five days, but peeling is a stage and not the end of one.

This matters because three of the eight end their restrictions at the word healed, and two of the three never say when healed arrives. Read literally, Oklahoma and Grand Traverse County tell a reader to stay out of pools and out of the sun for an unspecified period. The only number available to that reader is the one Mayo published, in a different document with different rules.

Three of the eight documents end their water and sun restrictions at the word healed. Only one of the three ever says how long healed takes, which leaves readers of the other two holding a restriction with no end date.

One regulator closes that gap by assigning it rather than by answering it. The San Diego County body art practitioner guide, written under California’s Safe Body Art Act, instructs operators to tell the client how long the healing process should take and to compare the signs of normal healing with the signs of infection. The guide does not say what that answer is, which makes the person holding the machine the only source in the chain expected to produce a number. We look at what the published timelines actually claim on how long a tattoo takes to heal.

What all seven instruction sheets agree on

Strip out the FDA, which gives no instructions, and three things appear in every one of the remaining seven: put something on it, keep it out of the sun, and get medical help at the first sign of infection. Nothing else is unanimous, and none of the three carries a number all seven share.

  1. Step 1Cover it, then uncover itEvery document that mentions a covering has the artist apply one and the client remove it. The three that give a time say two hours, three to five hours, and overnight. Two of those three then tell you not to put a new bandage on.
  2. Step 2Wash gently, dry without rubbingSix of the seven describe a wash. They split on water temperature, with New York City and Grand Traverse County saying cool and Alaska warm, and on frequency, where Mayo Clinic alone names a number, twice a day. Three of the six add that you pat the skin dry rather than rub it.
  3. Step 3Thin layer, not a thick oneEvery sheet that names an amount names a small one: a very thin layer in New York City, only a very thin coating in Grand Traverse County, a thin layer in Oklahoma. The product varies from bacitracin to a water-based lotion, the quantity does not.
  4. Step 4Watch for the signs the sheets listRedness that darkens or spreads, pain that worsens, pus, open sores, fever and chills are the AAD list. Grand Traverse County adds unusual fatigue. All seven documents end at the same instruction: at the first sign of infection, call a doctor.

Normal healing against infection, as each source describes it

Every instruction sheet ends at the same door, and only half of them describe what is behind it. Four of the eight publish an actual list of signs. Texas and Alaska write “at the first sign of infection” without saying what a sign is, and Mayo Clinic asks you to make the call yourself, contacting a professional if you think the tattoo might be infected or is not healing correctly.

The four lists are close but not identical. The American Academy of Dermatology names redness that darkens or spreads, pain that continues or worsens, a rash of itchy red bumps within the tattoo, fever, chills and shivering, pus, and open sores. Oklahoma gives excessive soreness, tenderness, redness, drainage, swelling or pain at the site. New York City gives pus, redness and swelling, or increased bleeding. Grand Traverse County gives severe or progressive redness, especially with fever or unusual fatigue.

The overlap is the problem. Redness, swelling and soreness appear on the infection lists and on the AAD’s list of normal healing, where redness, swelling, a sore feeling and clear fluid oozing are all expected, along with itching, flaking and scabs as the skin heals. The word that separates the two lists is not a symptom but a direction: darker, spreading, progressive, continues, worsens. Only the AAD and Grand Traverse County make that direction explicit. The other two set redness and swelling, which also appear on the normal list, beside pus and drainage, which do not.

Two further timings sit outside every aftercare sheet. The AAD notes that a skin condition triggered by a tattoo, such as psoriasis or eczema, usually shows within ten to twenty days and can appear as early as three days, which is a window no instruction sheet covers. The FDA adds a consequence rather than a symptom: a tattoo from a facility your state does not regulate may keep you from donating blood or plasma for twelve months, and infections from contaminated ink can require prolonged treatment with antibiotics.

What none of these documents answers

Three questions people ask constantly are absent from all eight. This is not an oversight we can fix by reasoning from the documents, so the page says it is absent instead.

The film dressing studios now useNo document in the set names a transparent adhesive film worn for days, by brand or by description. The closest is New York City in 2016, saying plastic coverings that do not allow proper air circulation should not be used, which points the other way from current studio practice.
Exercise, sweat and the gymNone of the seven instruction sheets restricts exercise or mentions sweat. San Diego County tells artists their instructions should cover restrictions on physical activities, bathing, gardening and contact with animals, and then leaves the content of those restrictions to the artist.
Second sittings and touch-upsNothing in the set says whether a second sitting on the same piece restarts the clock, or how aftercare differs for work booked across several appointments. Every timeline here is written as though a tattoo happens once, on one day, and is then left alone.

That last gap has a practical edge for large pieces. The tattoo cost calculator on this site estimates how many hours a given size and style takes, and anything past a single sitting turns one healing window into several. No official sheet in this set says how those windows stack, so the only person who can answer is the artist booking them.

Alcohol is a fourth gap with an odd shape. New York City is the only document in the set that tells you not to drink for twenty-four hours after the tattoo. Mayo Clinic addresses alcohol only in the other direction, advising against getting a tattoo after drinking. Six documents say nothing, so a reader who follows seven of the eight will never encounter the rule at all.

Reading your artist’s sheet against these eight

An artist’s sheet that contradicts one of these documents is not automatically wrong, because the documents contradict each other. What the comparison gives you is a way to tell which kind of disagreement you are looking at: a different number inside the observed range, or an instruction that no official source supports.

Follow the artistThe person who made the wound saw its depth, size and placement, and in California is required by the practitioner guide to tell you how long healing should take. On the covering, the product and the timeline, a specific answer from someone who saw the work beats a general one from a form.
Check it against the sheetsWhere the artist sheet is silent and a question is urgent, the official documents are what exists. They are also the place to check an instruction that sounds unusual: petroleum jelly, a bandage back on after day one, or a water ban with no end date are each contradicted by at least one source here.

The moment to ask is before the needle, not after. Healing rules depend on where the piece goes, which is the same variable that decides how the design has to be drawn; our tattoo placement guide covers that side, and the tattoo consultation checklist lists the questions worth asking in the same conversation, including which product the artist wants on the skin and for how long.

One last honesty note about the set itself. The Oklahoma fact sheet is marked OSDH 04/07, which makes it nineteen years old at the time of reading, and the New York City handout dates from March 2016, while Alaska’s form was revised in June 2024 and the Texas sample in June 2022. When a rule here looks out of step with what your studio does, the publication date is the first thing to check, and it is printed on every one of these documents.

Questions people ask

Can I shower with a new tattoo?
Three of the eight official documents address showering and all three allow it. New York City writes that showers are fine but baths are not. Alaska permits a daily gentle wash and short showers only, while banning bathing, hot tubs and swimming for a week. Mayo Clinic asks you to avoid direct streams of water on newly tattooed skin and to pat rather than rub it dry.
Can you use Vaseline on a tattoo?
Two of the eight say no, and they give different reasons. The American Academy of Dermatology writes that petroleum-based products such as petroleum jelly can cause the ink to fade. New York City puts it in capitals, NEVER use petroleum jelly, in the middle of instructions that otherwise ask for bacitracin. The other six documents do not mention it, which is not the same as permission.
Do I need an antibiotic ointment or is plain lotion enough?
The documents split along an institutional line. Three health departments name an antibiotic product directly: Texas says antibiotic ointment or cream, New York City says bacitracin, Grand Traverse County says Neosporin or Polysporin. The two medical organizations in the set never mention antibiotics on the pages read here; Mayo Clinic asks for a mild moisturizer and the dermatology academy for a water-based lotion. Ask the artist who saw the wound.
Is it normal for a new tattoo to peel?
Two sources describe peeling as expected. Alaska tells clients to be aware that a tattoo will peel like a sunburn in 2 to 5 days. The American Academy of Dermatology lists itching, flaking and scabs, along with redness, swelling, soreness and clear fluid, as part of normal healing. Both also say that darkening or spreading redness, worsening pain, pus or fever is not.
When is this comparison not the thing to follow?
When your artist handed you a sheet, follow the sheet. These eight documents are minimum standards written by regulators and general guidance written for everyone; the person who made the wound saw its depth, size and placement and is the only source here with that information. The comparison is for reading an artist sheet critically, and for the cases where you were given nothing at all.
Inkantic editorialWe build the tools on this site, so every claim about them is checked against the code that runs in your browser. Font notes come from setting the same word in all 24 faces at tattoo scale and comparing where the thin strokes go. Where we have not tested something ourselves, the page says so.
Sources